Alexander Stubb

MEP 2004-2008 – Group of the European People’s Party
Born on 1 April 1968, Helsinki, Finland.

Member of the European Parliament between 2004 and 2008 for the Group of the European People’s Party (Christian Democrats) and European Democrats and the national party: Kansallinen Kokoomus.
Vice-Chair of the Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection (31.01.2007 / 03.04.2008)

The idea for a network of young MEPs was born back in 2004 during a conversation between then young MEPs Cecilia Malmström, Nick Clegg,  Lousewies van der Laan, Helle Thorning-Schmidt. Just a little later the idea was consequently picked up and realised by Alexander Stubb, Alexander Alvaro, Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert and Carl Haglund. All these young MEPs moved on to become European Commissioner, British Deputy PM, founder of VoteWatch and the European Council on Foreign Relations, Head of the D66 and chief of Cabinet to Presidency of the International Criminal Court in the Hague, Danish PM, Finnish PM, VP of the European Parliament, Dutch Defence Minister of the Netherlands and Finnish Defence Minister, respectively.

EP link:
Social media: