Lousewies van der Laan

Member of the European Parliament between 1999 – 2003
Current: Member of the Board of Directors of The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)
The idea for a network of young MEPs was born back in 2004 during a conversation between then young MEPs Cecilia Malmström, Nick Clegg, Michiel van Hulten, Lousewies van der Laan, Helle Thorning-Schmidt. Just a little later the idea was consequently picked up and realised by Alexander Stubb, Alexander Alvaro, Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert and Carl Haglund. All these young MEPs moved on to become European Commissioner, British Deputy PM, founder of VoteWatch and the European Council on Foreign Relations, Head of the D66 and chief of Cabinet to Presidency of the International Criminal Court in the Hague, Danish PM, Finnish PM, VP of the European Parliament, Dutch Defence Minister of the Netherlands and Finnish Defence Minister, respectively.