Silvana Koch-Mehrin

Born on 17 November 1970, Wuppertal, Germany
MEP for Germany between 2004 – 2014
Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (Vice-Chair 2004 – 2009 / Member of the Bureau 2009 – 2011)
Vice-President of the European Parliament (14.07.2009 / 10.05.2011)
Politician, European Patriot, Entrepreneur, Public Affairs Specialist, Moderator, Political and Current Affairs Television Programme Presenter, Feminist
Silvana Koch‐Mehrin has been a Member of the European Parliament since 2004. From 2004‐2011 she was Chairwoman of the German liberal delegation of the European Parliament and from 2004-2009, Deputy Leader of ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe). From 2009‐2011 she held the position of European Parliament Vice President. Her parliamentary work focuses on trade policy and gender equality. She holds several honorary functions and is an Alumni member of the Young Global Leader of the World Economic Forum. Silvana studied History and Economics in Hamburg, Strasbourg and Heidelberg.
Member of the European Parliament
In her role as MEP, Silvana serves on the following committees and delegations:

  • Committee on International Trade (INTA)
  • Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM)
  • Delegation for relations with Switzerland , Norway and the EEA joint Parliamentary Committee (DEEA)
  • EU-Croatia Joint Parliamentary Committee (D-HR)

During her time in the European Parliament she has held numerous positions, including
– Vice-President/Deputy Speaker of the Parliament (2009 – 2011):

  • Vice-President responsible for STOA (Science and Technology Options Assessment Unit of the European Parliament)
  • Bureau Member of Working Party on Information and Communication Policy
  • Chair High Level Group on Gender Equality and Diversity
  • Co-Chair Steering Group National Parliaments

– Vice-Chair of the ALDE Group (2004 – 2009):

  • Chairing of ALDE Group Meetings
  • Chair of the ALDE Committee of Coordinators (Coordinators are the Group’s spokespeople for all different policy areas)
  • Transition management of the ELDR Group of 50 Members in 1999-2004 to the 88 Member strong ALDE Group after 2004
  • Establishment of rules of procedure / statute for the ALDE Group

EP page: