Science Rules! EU40 welcomed Star Trek actors and ESA astronauts

Date: 18 October
Time: 16:00-18:00
Venue: European Parliament, JAN 4Q2

EU40 is excited to have hosted Star Trek Actors, for an interactive discussion on Star Trek, Positive Role Models and inspiring young people about science and technology.

The two “fictive” heroes were joined by real astronauts of ESA, the European Space Agency!

The EU’s Chief Scientific Advisor, Professor Anne Glover, and Frank de Winne, former International Space Station Commander and current Head of the ESA Astronaut Centre participated.


Dutch astronaut André Kuiperswho holds the record of longest European stay in Orbit and who just came down from the International Space Station, as well as Danish Astronaut Andreas Mogensen, from the 2009 class, also joined us along with over 100 students from across Europe.

MEP Katarina Nevedalova moderated the event.

Europe desperately needs more young scientists and Star Trek has provided that inspiration for generations of innovators and dreamers.



  • Alexander Alvaro

  • Katarina Nevedalova

  • Walter Koenig

    Starfleet Commander Pavel Chekov, Star Trek
  • Anne Glover

  • Frank De Winne

    ESA Astronaut
  • Andreas Mogensen

    ESA Astronaut
  • André Kuipers

    Member of the European Astronaut Corps

STAR TREK and logo are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc.  Used with permission